Past SHH Scholarship Winners

In the spirit of its mission, each year the Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica contributes more than $160,000 in awards to student members of the SHH, chapters, sponsors, and other SHH officers. The majority of the award money is provided to student members in the form of College Scholarships given to 60 high school seniors and Student Travel Awards given to 24 high school juniors.

Activity of the Year Long Term 1st Place

Capítulo Rigoberta Menchú, Northside College Preparatory High School, (Robert Blease and Janet Torres, sponsors)

Virtual Travel Award, Concordia Language Villages

Cristina Liberto, Lane Tech College Prep High School, (Phillip Elkins, sponsor)

SHH Junior Travel Award to Puerto Rico

Nayely Sandoval Elgin High School (Teacher: Raul Castillo)


SHH Senior Scholarship Winners

$2000 Edgar Castillo, Northside College Prep H.S., (Robert Blease y Janet Torres sponsors)

$1000 Alexandra Brist, De La Salle Institute, (Maria Maldonado sponsor)

$1000 Eva Eberhardt, Marist High School, (Clare Jorgensen sponsor)

$1000 Hannah Frazer, Highland Park H.S., (Nairy Hagopian sponsor)

$1000 Celeste Xu, Adlai E. Stevenson High School, (Raquel Antillera sponsor)

Bertie Green Junior Travel Award

Each year twenty-four travel awards are awarded to high school juniors who are members of SHH. The students travel to a country or region of the Spanish-speaking world; the departure date for the trip is generally scheduled for mid-July.

Bertie Green Junior Travel Award Winners 2020:

Alexandra Pomrening, Lyons Township High School, (Margaret Hellermann, sponsor)

Guadalupe Quiñones, Northside College Prep HS (Robert Blease y Janet Torres, sponsors)

Abigael Parrish, Niles North High School (Susan Ranft, sponsor)

*Trip postponed till 2021, then cancelled due to pandemic


Joseph Adams Senior Scholarship Award

Each year the SHH awards twelve $2,000 and forty-eight $1000 scholarships to graduating senior members of SHH.

2021 Winners
$2000 – Vitaly Capitaine, Jones College Prep High School, (Michelle Parada, sponsor)
Guadalupe Quiñones, Northside College Preparatory High School, (Janet Torres and Robert Blease, sponsors)

$1000 – Michael Zaslavskiy, Adlai E. Stevenson High School, (Raquel Antillera, sponsor)
2017 Winners
Charmee Kamdar, Niles North High School (Susan Ranft, sponsor)
Isaac Nava, Highland Park High School, (Deborah Lewicki and Nairy Hagopian, sponsors)
Maria Arreola, Marist High School, (Erica Nathan-Gamauf, sponsor